Remembering My Dad This Weekend

Dear Friends,

Happy Father’s Day to all of you celebrating this holiday.

This is the first Father’s Day I’ve ever asked for something, and I was very particular about my request: I want a display shadow box in which to retire my very first paint brush.  It was my father’s paint brush, and he is no longer with me. I lost him to lung cancer in 2002.  Dad gave me the brush I have used my entire career. The brush that painted my first professional sale. The brush that stroked every Star Wars, Alien, Predator and Batman painting you’ve ever seen me do. The brush that built my career and helped me achieve my signature “Dave Dorman style.”

This weekend, sadly, I must retire it. Like me, its hairs are thinning and it’s looking a little worse for the wear. I can’t part with it, as I would feel like I’d be severing some lasting physical connection with Dad…that is, other than my son– my dad’s namesake–who resembles Dad in mannerisms and personality more and more every day. I wrote a lot about my dad in my memoir, which doubles as an art book – Rolling Thunder: The Art of Dave Dorman (IDW Publishing/Desperado Publishing, July 2010). My dad was a part of our country’s history and because of his hobby (RC Planes), he even graced some magazine covers in his day.  Every once in a while, my son asks me about him, and it sucker punches me every time.  The most poignant moment was when my son, then three, asked Denise to take my dad’s photo down from the mantel and place it on the cocktail table, so “Grandpa can watch me play with my trains.” I would have given almost anything to have my dad back, just for that small moment with my son.  Somehow, I think he was there.

Denise is carefully plotting some clever, unique  way to present my new shadow box. I knew she was the ideal person to assign this task. I’ll take a photo of it and post it here to share with you this weekend, after I’ve  had my own private memorial with Dad’s  paint brush.

As always, I thank you for reading,

Dave.

2 Responses to “Remembering My Dad This Weekend”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I’d like to think that Papa Jack was there with Baby Jack too. Last week I went to the Air and Space museum and I really missed him too. Seeing all the full sized planes of all the model planes I used to watch him build in the summer really took me back.

    I am glad that Denise is getting a shadow box for your brush. It’s always good to be able to keep memories like that.

    Love you guys and miss you.
    ❤ Stephanie

Leave a Reply

