Happy Birthday, Ray Harryhausen

Dear Friends,

Here’s the Ray Harryhausen tribute cover I did for MonsterScene Magazine back in the ’90s. This was a lot of fun for me, since I’m such a huge Harryhausen fan. Jeff Preston, Steve Smith and I ended up at a show with Ray, who was kind enough to autograph the matte of the framed original I gifted to Steve Smith, my best friend & Editor-in-Chief of MonsterScene. Good times…

Dave Dorman: Ray Harryhausen Tribute Painting

Dave Dorman's Ray Harryhausen Tribute Painting: MonsterScene Issue 7

Thanks for reading,

Dave.

3 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Ray Harryhausen”

  1. Arnold Kunert Says:

    I’ve always thought your cover was one of the best tributes ever done for dear Ray. Like you, I have been a Harryhausen fan for decades and was lucky enough to see my affection for Ray pay off when my campaigns to get Ray his Lifetime Achievement Oscar in 1992 and his star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame were succesful. It’s wonderful when you can honor your heroes, isn’t it?

    • DaveandDeniseDorman Says:

      Wow – that was you behind all of that? I owe you a huge THANK YOU. Ray is a hero to me.

  2. Arnold Kunert Says:

    Yes, I am proud to say I was behind those two events. I have a nice photo of Ray holding his Oscar just moments after it was handed to him on March 7, 1992. If you’d like it, please send me your e-mail address.

Leave a Reply

