Some New Dave Dorman Art & Horror Art Jam Japan Fundraiser Tonight in Chicago!

Dear Friends,

For those who may not follow me on Twitter or Facebook and didn’t already see this, I want to let you know that I have been in contact with Tsuneo Sanda, one of my favorite Japanese Star Wars artists, and he assured me that he and his family are all alive and well. That was a huge relief to me.

Below is a piece I created, private commission, based on my Wasted Lands character, M. D’Cease, who is the most bad-ass coroner this side of Dodge City (except there’s actually no Dodge City in the Wasted Lands…). Let me know what you think.

M. D'Cease by Dave Dorman - a Wasted Lands character

M. D'Cease, Coroner, Mortal City in Dave Dorman's The Wasted Lands series

We all love the Japanese-inspired horror movies (frankly, I appreciate just about anything Japan inspired), and tonight we Chicago artists are giving back to our friends suffering in Japan. My friend Charlie Athanas invited me to join in the event called “A Gathering of Horror” and it is an “art jam” of Chicago artists and illustrators creating something together to help raise money for Japan earthquake/tsunami victims. If you can join us, please do. It starts at 7 p.m. and goes to 11 p.m., after which much drinking, camaraderie and hijinks will continue to ensue, well into the early morning hours. Here are the details:

Where: Lucky Number Grill – Upstairs Loft

1931 N. Milwaukee Avenue, Chicago, IL

When: 7 p.m. to 11 p.m. and beyond…

If you’re in Chicago tonight, try to join us. I promise, you won’t be bored.

Also, I’m in the throes of planning an exhibit in Herndon, VA for August of this year, and include a 2-day workshop. If any of you are interested in learning oil painting from me, in the most non-traditional way possible, let me know. It will likely be the first weekend in August. I may have a second exhibit running in Reston, VA as well, and I will keep you posted on that.

If you are on LinkedIn, please feel free to link with me. I’m on Twitter as @DaveDorman and I’m on Facebook as well.

Thanks for reading!

Dave

 

2 Responses to “Some New Dave Dorman Art & Horror Art Jam Japan Fundraiser Tonight in Chicago!”

  1. […] Dear Friends, For those who may not follow me on Twitter or Facebook and didn't already see this, I want to let you know that I have been in contact with Tsuneo Sanda, one of my favorite Japanese Star Wars artists, and he assured me that he and his family are all alive and well. That was a huge relief to me. Below is a piece I created, private commission, based on my Wasted Lands character, M. D'Cease, who is the most bad-ass coroner this side of … Read More […]

  2. Thanks for the announcement Dave! See you there tonight. J Anthony Kosar and Raf Nieves will be there and we’ll see if Tony Akins can drag Becky Cloonan over from Challenger Comics.

Leave a Reply

