The Art This Comic Book Artist Treasures Most

Dear Friends,

As many of you know, I have a budding artist in the house named Jack, age 6, and his greeting cards are something I look forward to every holiday. Sometimes, they’re a little unsettling, such as the Valentine’s Day card…

Our Son's Valentine 2011

that informed me that of the Top 3 things he loved, Star Wars was #1, then came his mom and me.

Star Wars is #1 in Jack's Heart of Hearts.

 

But this year’s Birthday card was exceptionally special:

Key: Be sure to add your byline, as parents are never sure who the crayon-drawn cards are from

October 1st is the “best day of his life” or as he puts it, “live.”

Jack's Best Day

And I especially loved the self-portrait of Jack and me:

Jack's self-portrait of himself with me (he fancies himself a Hawaiian shirt wearer)

But some of the Dinosaur and Star Wars art he’s been creating lately has been really fun:

Jack's Dinosaur Book Cover

And lately, he’s been transfixed by the Allosaurus:

Jack's Allosaurus

 

And here is his Darth Maul. I often wonder what his art teacher must think of his creepier images.

Jack, Age 6, Darth Maul Drawing

Thanks to all for indulging me today. If the house was burning down, after making sure my family was safe, Jack’s is the art I would grab on my way out the door.

Hope you’re having a good one. I’ll be at Star Wars Fan Days in Dallas this Friday, Saturday and Sunday, so stop by and see me if you’re there. I will have something cool to show you that I’ve been toying with (pun intended).

On Monday night, join me in Chicago — I’ll be at then “Masque of the Red Death” gala WildClaw Theatre¬†benefit, raising money for the greatest horror theater in Chicago, and my horror artwork will be auctioned off to help the cause:¬†http://wildclawtheatre.com/wc_html/gala_benefit_2011.html

From October 29th РDecember 2nd, you can see an incredible horror art collection at Maleficium: Dark Art Exhibition at a west suburban Chicago gallery, owned by my friend J. Anthony Kosar: http://bit.ly/qbnHiO

I will have 3 pieces in that show, and am joined by the likes of my friends and fellow horror artists including Jill Thompson, Tony Akins, Doug Klauba, Ben Templesmith, Bill Reinhold, Brian Busch and many more.

Also, here is all of my contact information in case you don’t have it already:

Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/davedorman

Friend me on Facebook: http://fb.com/davedormanartist

Link with me on LinkedIn: http://linkedin.com/in/thedavedorman

Listen to my free Podcast on iTunes: http://itscomicbookday.com

Media Inquiries: Please contact my publicist denise@writebrainmedia.com

Thanks,

Dave.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,746 other followers

