GI Joe: The Real American Hero! – A New Limited Edition Art Book by Dave Dorman

Dear Friends,
Between the mid 1980s through the early ’90s, I had the great pleasure of working with Hasbro toys producing art for in-house use in helping create the design of GI Joe action figures. This work was for production only and not intended for reproduction, promotion or packaging. I have had many fans over the years ask about this art. Because there is so much continued interest to this day to see these unpublished pieces, I have taken your wishes into consideration and have decided to publish some of these in this small book:
Dave Dorman Art Book:  G.I. Joe: American Hero

New Dave Dorman Art Book:
G.I. Joe: American Hero

Click here to go to the webpage to order:

While there have been a few articles in collector’s magazines and online interviews about this work, and a few scattered publications of a couple of pieces, this will be the first real collection of my Hasbro work from this period. 

 
The art featured in the book is full-color paintings produced to make the GI Joe toy figures look as though they would in real life. I will also feature some of the pencil preliminary work that went into my painting preparation. The art covers both Joe and Cobra and some variations of uniforms not produced. 
Dave Dorman G.I. Joe Art

Dave Dorman G.I. Joe Art

 
The book is 6″ x 9″ full color with card stock cover, 24 pages including cover.  The edition size is limited to 250 copies. The price is $20 (plus $5 shipping worldwide) All copies are signed by the artist–me–Dave Dorman. I have kept film of these works in my archives, as I do with all of my artworks, and so the reproduction of the art is the best you will find. 
Dave Dorman G.I. Joe Pencil Art

Dave Dorman G.I. Joe Pencil Art

 
I have included the cover and a few interior pieces of art to tease you of what is to come. If you are a GI Joe collector or fan, or just a fan of my work, you will find this book a fun retrospective on a wonderfully creative time in my career. 
G.I. Joe Art by Dave Dorman

G.I. Joe Art by Dave Dorman

 
I have created a page on my website to order this book directly from me. There will be no other way to get this collection as I am publishing for my fans only. Click here to go to the webpage to order:
 
http://www.davedorman.com/americanhero.shtml

 

4 Responses to “GI Joe: The Real American Hero! – A New Limited Edition Art Book by Dave Dorman”

  1. I am surprised I never knew this. I love Dave Dorman’s work on Star Wars and I am sure I will love looking at his work on G.I. Joe, a franchise I love almost as much as Star Wars!

  2. […] it easy for Joe fans to check out his work and add it to their collections. He is releasing a limited edition art book with many of his pieces. The book, titled American Hero, is 6″ x 9″ full-color with a […]

Leave a Reply

